model of a soldier - a work in progress thread

Started by reason3d, October 29, 2007, 04:48:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

reason3d

hi im dimz , i am a 3d modeler and a semi-friend of alot of people here .

this will be a topic showing the progression of my work , building a modern day us ranger . also i am offering discussion and help to those who are new or fairly new to modeling , so feel free to ask any question . also to point out mistakes .

very early still , first work in progress of the torso will be here :

Ortho

this is just to get things rolling a bit , and i will space the renders out so you can see it evolve .

Goodkebab , if you could comment on the overall accuracy of the physique , would greatly help the model . though ive been modeling characters for wquite a while , none had to be very accurate and it was a must that they were very low poly (ut2004 mods) . 

reason3d

got a good update , base model is near completion in regards to whats stock on the model , attachments and other delicate detail will come later :

http://www.reason3d.us/soldierwip3.jpg

img is 1024 x 768 and wont display well in img tags .

reason3d

wow im tired , that was rendered using light tracer but no light , hence the ghost you may or may not have seen .

ok so heres the deal , dont know how long its been , but i am done for the day and have another render , its pretty plain except for those who like cage inspection ... but i wanna post one more image since the last was so badly processed .

http://www.reason3d.us/soldierwip4.jpg

night peeps .

Gawain

the head is too small and the whole body form looks too rectangular.

Tidenburg

he looks a bit like hes wearing pajamas? The material shouldn't droop it should be tight to his body outlining his figure. ATM he looks like a cube in clothes.

goodkebab

there is very little to judge until you can create a normal map.  The hi res version is where all the power is.

Gui Brazil