Main Menu

Programmer/Tester

Started by livinded, October 08, 2008, 03:38:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

livinded

I've been programming for about 6 years and doing it professionally for the past three. I've contributed to many open source projects with code, documentation, testing, filing bug reports, and handling releases. I'm experienced with the following languages:

C
C++
PHP
Ruby
BASH
AWK
Java
ia32 assembly

I haven't done much in the way of game development or graphics work, but it's something that I am interested in and hoping to get more involved in. My primary systems are Linux and FreeBSD based though I can install Windows in a virtual machine, run in wine, or if it comes down to it, install windows on a spare machine. Most of my work revolves around security and web development and thus I am extremely security conscious.

I think that it is important to test early and test often in order to remove as many bugs as possible from the releases. Unit tests should be performed to test end cases where simple off by one errors may turn out disastrous if missed, as well as regression tests after code commits to make sure that code checkins are not breaking the code base. I've done playtesting in the past for a few games and written test harnesses for various code that I've written and have decent amount of experience with testing and handling bug reports.

I have a lot of experience with automation and while I am not experienced with game development, feel that I could be a useful asset to the team. Ultimately what I'd like to do is bug wrangling and small feature implementation to get started so that I can gain experience, then become a much more productive member of the development team. If you have any questions or would like more information please contact me.

Thank you.

LennardF1989

Welcome and thank you for the interest.

I see you are experienced in C++ and Java, which are both Object-Orientated and more or less equal to UnrealScript.