Author Topic: Google Chrome  (Read 8581 times)

Offline MulleDK19

  • 1337 Programmer
  • Production Team
  • ******
  • Posts: 873
  • Karma: +2/-2
  • Love is the delusion that women are different
    • View Profile
Google Chrome
« on: September 03, 2008, 05:57:09 PM »
I just tried Google's new browser... And.. It's awesome!

It runs each tab as a seperate process, which causes the browser to keep running, if a single tab crashes.

Also. You can drag the tabs out of the browser, which will make the tab as a new browser window, which can also contain tabs. And you can move the tabs back/forth from browser to browser.

And I just found out that it has a built-in spelling checker xD. In my native language :D

It also does not need to restart after installing Flash player, etc. xD

Chrome is open source.

EDIT: Oh ya... And it starts instantly.

You can get the BETA at http://www.google.com/chrome/index.html?hl=da&brand=CHMG&utm_source=da-hpp&utm_medium=hpp&utm_campaign=da
« Last Edit: September 03, 2008, 06:53:30 PM by MulleDK13 »

If my heart ever heals, I will make sure it'll never break again.

Offline Gui Brazil

  • One vodka, two vodka, three vodka, floor
  • Posts: 1455
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Keep on rocking!
    • View Profile
Re: Google Chrome
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2008, 06:04:41 PM »
The only thing that actually looks cool on it is the sites icons on the start-up page. Nevertheless, I'm sticking with firefox.

Offline Succubus Dryad Of The Undying Comet

  • Posts: 1872
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Cool guy.
    • View Profile
Re: Google Chrome
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2008, 06:06:41 PM »
Works VERY fast, actually.
I'll be using it for graphics and stuff, because of the HUGE page space it shows.
Anyway, I'll stick to firefox for anything else :)


Gawain

  • Guest
Re: Google Chrome
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2008, 06:15:24 PM »
can it do anything better than opera (besides not being boycotted by some page admins)?

Offline Gui Brazil

  • One vodka, two vodka, three vodka, floor
  • Posts: 1455
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Keep on rocking!
    • View Profile
Re: Google Chrome
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2008, 06:22:34 PM »
because of the HUGE page space it shows.

I have the same working space on both firefox and chrome...maybe my firefox is special or I just customized it but let's stay with the "special" thinking.

Offline LennardF1989

  • Lead Programmer
  • Production Team
  • ******
  • Posts: 2723
  • Karma: +13/-1
    • View Profile
    • LennardF1989.com
Re: Google Chrome
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2008, 06:34:05 PM »
Damn, Chrome really is fast. Sites which takes both IE and FF seconds, it shows up instantly on Chrome.

Google for president.

Offline MulleDK19

  • 1337 Programmer
  • Production Team
  • ******
  • Posts: 873
  • Karma: +2/-2
  • Love is the delusion that women are different
    • View Profile
Re: Google Chrome
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2008, 06:57:05 PM »
Damn, Chrome really is fast. Sites which takes both IE and FF seconds, it shows up instantly on Chrome.

Google for president.

I've tried to start 100 tabs all running a youtube video.. Instantly switch, and not even 5% cpu!

PS: How come you're here, and not on msn/xfire?? -.-

If my heart ever heals, I will make sure it'll never break again.

Offline LennardF1989

  • Lead Programmer
  • Production Team
  • ******
  • Posts: 2723
  • Karma: +13/-1
    • View Profile
    • LennardF1989.com
Re: Google Chrome
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2008, 07:19:46 PM »
Damn, Chrome really is fast. Sites which takes both IE and FF seconds, it shows up instantly on Chrome.

Google for president.

I've tried to start 100 tabs all running a youtube video.. Instantly switch, and not even 5% cpu!

PS: How come you're here, and not on msn/xfire?? -.-
"I'm soo populair".

No, seriously, like 30 people talk to me at once when I pop online, so I just start in offline mode and talk when I feel like it. Just talk to me though (even when appearing offline), I might reply ;)

PS. The iTunes soundtrack of Dr. Horrible roxors!
« Last Edit: September 03, 2008, 07:21:49 PM by LennardF1989 »

Offline Succubus Dryad Of The Undying Comet

  • Posts: 1872
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Cool guy.
    • View Profile
Re: Google Chrome
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2008, 07:28:45 PM »
because of the HUGE page space it shows.

I have the same working space on both firefox and chrome...maybe my firefox is special or I just customized it but let's stay with the "special" thinking.
Yes I have:
1 bar for StumbleUpon and other stuff
1 bar for address bar and search and other stuff
1 for bookmarks
1 for tabs (I ALMOST always have a couple open)
And the status bar with another million of addons

That makes it 5 vs the address bar in chrome.

Offline MulleDK19

  • 1337 Programmer
  • Production Team
  • ******
  • Posts: 873
  • Karma: +2/-2
  • Love is the delusion that women are different
    • View Profile
Re: Google Chrome
« Reply #9 on: September 03, 2008, 07:39:20 PM »
because of the HUGE page space it shows.

I have the same working space on both firefox and chrome...maybe my firefox is special or I just customized it but let's stay with the "special" thinking.
Yes I have:
1 bar for StumbleUpon and other stuff
1 bar for address bar and search and other stuff
1 for bookmarks
1 for tabs (I ALMOST always have a couple open)
And the status bar with another million of addons

That makes it 5 vs the address bar in chrome.


Chrome was just released... No plugins has been made yet.

If my heart ever heals, I will make sure it'll never break again.

Offline Succubus Dryad Of The Undying Comet

  • Posts: 1872
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Cool guy.
    • View Profile
Re: Google Chrome
« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2008, 07:44:17 PM »
Even though, i need something that takes very little pagespace. I used IE before, but now i have chrome _^

Offline MulleDK19

  • 1337 Programmer
  • Production Team
  • ******
  • Posts: 873
  • Karma: +2/-2
  • Love is the delusion that women are different
    • View Profile
Re: Google Chrome
« Reply #11 on: September 03, 2008, 07:58:09 PM »
Even though, i need something that takes very little pagespace. I used IE before, but now i have chrome _^

:)

If my heart ever heals, I will make sure it'll never break again.

Offline I <3 U

  • Posts: 729
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Google Chrome
« Reply #12 on: September 03, 2008, 09:12:51 PM »
I just tried Google's new browser... And.. It's awesome!

It runs each tab as a seperate process, which causes the browser to keep running, if a single tab crashes.

Also. You can drag the tabs out of the browser, which will make the tab as a new browser window, which can also contain tabs. And you can move the tabs back/forth from browser to browser.

And I just found out that it has a built-in spelling checker xD. In my native language :D

It also does not need to restart after installing Flash player, etc. xD

Chrome is open source.

EDIT: Oh ya... And it starts instantly.

You can get the BETA at http://www.google.com/chrome/index.html?hl=da&brand=CHMG&utm_source=da-hpp&utm_medium=hpp&utm_campaign=da

Wtf i couldn't install flash player on it. How did you do it :).

Offline Aj

  • Posts: 205
  • Karma: +1/-1
  • Resident Splinter Cell knowledge base
    • View Profile
Re: Google Chrome
« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2008, 12:18:25 AM »
I had to search for an hour or so to find a direct download link for the executable, since the proxy server at my college wouldn't play nice with the Google installer crapware.

It runs very fast, and I'm loving it.  I am doing a review on it for my college newspaper. :)

Offline Gui Brazil

  • One vodka, two vodka, three vodka, floor
  • Posts: 1455
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Keep on rocking!
    • View Profile
Re: Google Chrome
« Reply #14 on: September 04, 2008, 01:51:23 AM »
because of the HUGE page space it shows.

I have the same working space on both firefox and chrome...maybe my firefox is special or I just customized it but let's stay with the "special" thinking.
Yes I have:
1 bar for StumbleUpon and other stuff
1 bar for address bar and search and other stuff
1 for bookmarks
1 for tabs (I ALMOST always have a couple open)
And the status bar with another million of addons

That makes it 5 vs the address bar in chrome.


I do have the same working space with a bunch of tabs open. About everything else, your fault for making it a huge mess out of your browser.